Forums Latest Members
  1. Jonnys3rd Oct 4, 2018

Dear Forum,

I am planning to buy my first vintage watch and want it to be a Omega dress watch in massive-gold. After weeks and weeks of research and countless hours on scrolling through eBay, this 1949 Omega Trésor came to my attention. It has the Cal. 351, Ref. 2643 and is made from 18k gold.

What I particularly like is the relatively big diameter of the watch (36mm). To me the condition of the timepiece looks very good, however, I am new to the world of Vintage watches and might be missing something huge.

Unfortunately, there is no paperwork regarding this watch whatsoever.

I'd love to hear your recommendations and comments on this watch, maybe even a 'ballpark valuation' -- thank you so much.

The watch is priced at €850 on eBay.

Best regards,

Jonas

omega 1.PNG omega 2.PNG omega 3.PNG omega 4.PNG omega 5.PNG omega 6.PNG omega 8.PNG omega 9.PNG omega 10.PNG omega 11.PNG

2. padders Oooo subtitles! Oct 4, 2018

A few things spring to mind, firstly I don't think that is the original dial, in fact I am sure that isn't. Secondly the serial is for 1951-52, its not a 1949 example. Next be aware that much of the weight of the watch is in the brass movement spacer. That said, if it were all original the price would be fair, a little cheap even, as a redial not so sure. I would look for something more original personally.

Foo2rama and ConElPueblo like this.
  3. Rochete Oct 4, 2018

Nice specimen at a fair price provided you don't mind the redial.

4. omegastar Oct 4, 2018

It is not a redial, but a service dial.

5. Jonnys3rd Oct 4, 2018

Thank you for your comments. Just for clarification: Is this dial serviced i.e. cleaned but still original or has it been swapped at some point?

6. Rochete Oct 4, 2018

Original dial --> Same dial as it came out of factory, without any later man-made modification. Of course it may be patined, damaged, dirty, etc...