Forums Latest Members
  1. fnzeee May 10, 2018

Hi, I recently purchased this vintage Omega on Ebay. It is not a Seamaster or a Constellation and is simply listed as "other" on the Omega site. The seller described it as "military" style. The dial is signed on the back and the movement appears to be in very good shape aside from some tool marks on the adjustment screws. Two requests as I am new to collecting Omegas:

1) Any feedback on the quality / condition / authenticity from the pictures below? Did I buy a POS, or is it ok? The seller stated that everything except the band is original (dial, case, crown, etc). Can anyone tell if the dial is original?
    2) Does anyone have any information or history about this particular model / style? Is there a story behind this model?

Omega_268_001.jpg Omega_268_002.jpg Omega_268_003.jpg Omega_268_004.jpg Omega_268_005.jpg Omega_268_006.jpg Omega_268_007.jpg Omega_268_008.jpg Omega_268_009.jpg Omega_268_010.jpg Omega_268_011.jpg Omega_268_012.jpg
    Edited May 10, 2018
  2. Dan S May 10, 2018

Badly overpolished case and repainted dial (you can see the black paint creeping up the sides and dripped on top of the applied markers). It's likely a legitimate 1950s or 1960s Omega that has been badly restored. It's not military or military style, just a dress watch. In original condition, it is desirable, but not in its current state.

chipsotoole likes this.
  3. Gordon Heavyfoot May 10, 2018

You have to be careful with wording on eBay as many sellers use a liberal definition of "original", meaning that the dial is an authentic Omega dial even if it has been refinished. Caveat emptor. Depending on the seller's description/wording you may have a case for a return. If not, chalk it up to noob tax and try to enjoy the watch. Ask before you buy, the folks here are always willing to help.

dxholdren and Dan S like this.
  4. fnzeee May 10, 2018