Forums Latest Members
  1. dan1 Mar 7, 2018

Hi,

I am new to the vintage watch world and would be grateful for some advice.

So, I have decided to go for a 1960's Seamaster and have pored over a number of auctions and read a lot of articles to find the right watch.

I have fallen for with the one in the pictures. According to my eye it seems in reasonable condition and original, except for the crown and strap. How much importance should I attach to the unoriginal crown and strap? Would it in your opinion be worth buying and at what price?

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

1.PNG 2.PNG 3.PNG 4.PNG 5.PNG 6.PNG

2. Looneytoons Mar 7, 2018

The strap is not an issue. The movement is. Get pics of the inside caseback and movement before making any decisions.

3. Kwijibo Mar 7, 2018

Hello is it me or is there a little space between the dial and crystal? You MUST ask for the case ref and movement. The strap is not an issue. You can find a crown for 50 bucks or less. Can I ask you the price?

4. dan1 Mar 7, 2018

Thank you very much for your inputs. I will try to ask for pictures of the movement. However, I do not think that the seller is accustomed to selling watches, including taking the back off.

As regards the price, I left it out on purpose in my first post to get an opinion of the value which is as unbiased as possible. But I expect to be able to buy it for around 500 dollars. Does that sound fair (of course depending on the movement)?

5. Kwijibo Mar 7, 2018

well the price looks decent BUT :
    if you have to change some parts :
    - 10 dollars for a generic crystal, 60 for an Omega genuine one
    - around 30 dollars for a crown
    - service history unknown : possibly 200 dollars of service.
    this must be a 565 inside. This movement needs a very good service as it can often be tricky.

Watchguild likes this.
  6. ICONO Mar 7, 2018

I would negotiate…with the wrong crown, as a bargain chip

$400 feels more correct to me, without movement images