Forums Latest Members
  1. horloge Aug 15, 2015

Hi guys

I'm relatively new to vintage watch collecting and came across this really nice Speedmaster Ref 145.022 (1969) model the other day, well I say it's really nice, it has some paintwork cracking on the dial. What can cause this excessive cracking? If purchased, what issues could I face in terms of the deterioration of the dial?

This is the particular model that I'm interested in, it's post moon landing and is within my budget - I would've ideally been interested in the pre moon ref. 105.003 but sadly this is out of my price range.

In the past this type of excessive cracking would have seriously put me off a watch, but I read an article not long ago about the importance of keeping a watch in it's true form - don't have the casing polished to make it look brand new, don't replace parts (unless imperative) and don't have the dial repainted. It appeals to me greatly because even though the watch is 46 years old it is still sought after and in fabulous working condition. I love that this watch has been worn - it comes with it's own story and that's why vintage watch collecting fascinates me.

While I love collecting vintage pieces, I don't like throwing my money down the drain and like to buy particular pieces that may not necessarily appreciate in value, but will certainly retain their value. I guess my real reason for this post was to start a discussion to see peoples opinions on well worn condition of watches and what effect this particular ageing would have on you in terms of the money you'd part with for this watch.

Also, did Omega only start adding 'professional' under Speedmaster after the moon landing?

I've attached an image of the watch.

Look forward to hearing your various viewpoints.

Ben

Screen Shot 2015-08-15 at 09.47.32.png
  2. Pahawi Aug 15, 2015

Are you sure it's paint cracking and not small scratches on the crystal?

Nice 220 bezel, BTW:

Giff2577 likes this.
  3. sulaco Aug 15, 2015