Forums Latest Members
  1. fernmac Feb 4, 2016

Hi,
    i would like to know if there is any way that one can verify if a omega is legit or just a fake. Any serial database i can check?
    I bought a seamster pro 300 with serial n.º 54979939, how can i be sure it is original.
    If i go to a jewellery store that sells omega, are they able to find out?
    Thank you

IMG_0818.JPG
  2. blufinz52 Hears dead people, not watch rotors. Feb 4, 2016

Yes.

3. fernmac Feb 4, 2016

I read that the best luxury clones are even identical in the inside, is it true? Since mine is a quartz watch, is it harder to determine if it is original?
    Thanks

4. blufinz52 Hears dead people, not watch rotors. Feb 4, 2016

The watch looks authentic to me, but I'm not an expert and don't even play one on tv. Pictures of the movement would be helpful, but again, I think it's genuine. How much did you pay if I may ask?

5. ConElPueblo Feb 4, 2016

It looks perfectly fine, not a replica. All fake versions of these are rather easily spotted...
    However, the hands have either been changed or refurbished so they don't match the indices anymore; they ought to be the same creme colour. The watch has been highly polished, to the extent that the crisp edges have all but disapeared - take a look at the scalloped bezel, it shouldn't look that "soft".
    There are a (small) chance that the movement has been swapped during a service (but certainly not if it has been serviced by someone capable), but I don't know how often that happens.

No.

6. Archer Omega Qualified Watchmaker Feb 4, 2016

It looks legit to me and the serial number is for a ref. 25428000. If you do open it the movement inside should be marked Omega, and it will be a Cal. 1538. The hands are not likely any newer than the dial - in my experience watches from this era don't have the hands match the dial patina ever.

I do agree it has been polished a lot...

Cheers, Al

7. fernmac Feb 4, 2016