Forums Latest Members

Omega Seamaster Tokyo 2020 Predictions?

1. vadimo Jun 9, 2021

What do you think will happen to this watch? Will it be overlooked by customers because its not really a special edition? Will COVID Olympics drive down interest of such watch ?

Opinions welcome

david5807 likes this.
  2. Jon Walker Jun 9, 2021

I looked at it and kind of like it. But yeah its not much of a special edition, and since I really don't care about a summer Olympics which didn't happen, it kind of takes away from any special-ness. The price also seems a little high. I'm no artist but they could have incorporated the Japanese red sun into the dial to add some dimension.

I am a fan of the new Seamaster design, particularly the ceramic bezel and lasered dial and brilliant colours. If I had to I would take the two blue version released in 2018 or 2019 over this one.

Who knows? - maybe in 20 years the Olympics-that-didn't-happen-Omega will be highly sought after...

vadimo likes this.
  3. Evitzee Jun 9, 2021

The Covid angle and the delayed games will have no, or very minimal, effect on prices long term.

vadimo likes this.
  4. vadimo Jun 9, 2021

You could say that its a negative watch because of delayed Olympics, still calling it 2020, COVID but then you could spin it around and say it marks very important period in history of Olympics or even the world

aventador likes this.
  5. Jon Walker Jun 9, 2021

Who are you spinning and saying this to?

While you never know which watch will be a sleeper, and had I known I would have bought the original Bond Seamaster quartz and left it in the closet for 25 years, I don't think this watch is going to be a collector's item.

But if you really like it, you could certainly do worse.

vadimo likes this.
  6. raclaims Jun 9, 2021

I would never buy a watch that would constantly remind me of covid and this miserable time in the world But that’s just me

Soulcreek and Jon Walker like this.
  7. oneover Jun 11, 2021