Forums Latest Members
  1. TacmedRN Feb 17, 2020

Hello all!

I know this has been discussed before, and I did do a search. However, I got mixed answers, so I contacted Omega directly, and was further confused! I am hoping all you fine people can help me out!

I have an Omega Seamaster Professional 300m that I bought in June 2019. At the time, I had no idea what the “master chronometer” meant, and I much preferred the clean blue dial vs the wave dial. I ended up purchasing reference 212.30.41.20.03.001 with the Omega 2500 movement. Had I known the characteristics that make the master chronometer movement so great, I would have gone with that, but hindsight is 20/20!

The question I have is how durable and shock/magnetic resistant is my watch with the 2500 movement? I have seen everything in here from “handle it with silk gloves” to “they used to wear mechanical watches in war, so you could go to battle with it” and everything in between!

I contacted Omega directly and asked specifically about durability during activities like playing drums and going to the shooting range as well as magnetism while going through metal detectors and screenings at airports and government buildings (I go through these frequently for work). The response I got from them was that without the Master Chronometer designation, I shouldn’t take my watch hear speakers, handbags, or even a refrigerator! With regard to shock, they said I could wear my watch while golfing or sailing, but said nothing about the specific activities I asked about, not any general “it can handle this much of a hit/bump.”

The final statement they said was that Omega watches are built to stand the test of time and are all tested to official NIHS as well as internal Swatch Group norms. However, when doing a search, I cannot find what the NIHS or Swatch criteria are for my movement!