Forums Latest Members

Omega Geneve Automatic - Advice on strap and in general needed for beginner

1. Jamie0701 Jul 4, 2019

Hey Guys,

Hope you are all well. My dad has recently gave me this watch - I have it booked in for a full service with a recommended independent watch shop. The chap has been doing it for 40 years.

The issue I have is I am new to Omega's and I am scouring the internet for a strap for the watch - can I get your opinions and advice? Also do people think a service could get this watch back into good shape? Is it a good model?

I am at work now so only have 2 pictures, I can take more tonight. I need to measure the width for the strap too - unless again people know the mm.

Apologies if this is really kind of basic or should know questions. I'm new to this but have always been facisnated as my dad collected watches whilst I was growing up. I get married in 6 weeks and this is his gift. So I want to get it into good shape and you guys are experts.

I know straight off it needs a good clean and new strap... but any other advice (such as is it worth it?) would be fantastic. If it is worth it where can I source a strap?

Thanks in advance,

Jamie

Watch.jpg Watch 2.jpg
  2. efauser I ♥ karma!!! Jul 4, 2019

First thing is get the current bracelet off the watch. The spring-loaded extenders tend to tear up the inside of the lugs. I would look at a nice black leather to dress it up a bit. For daily wear, I would get a bracelet for it. I'm sure someone knows what bracelet would likely have been available for it, originally.

felsby, Henneth, DaveK and 1 other person like this.
  3. KingCrouchy Jul 4, 2019

DaveK and Jamie0701 like this.
  4. Jamie0701 Jul 4, 2019