Omega Cal 564 Beat error

Firstly I should say I am a novice watchmaker with fair experience on Seiko movements.
I wanted to service my Omega Constellation cal 564 my grandfather passed to me.
On the 1900 timer it was running very fast +300 with a beat error of 0.6
I can regulate it to its max setting giving +150 at best
I adjusted the beat lever to slow down rate to +4 but of course the beat error has increased to 7.3ms
So how can I get both rate and beat error in harmony?
Should I shorten the balance spring by adjusting stud screw or is there a collet to adjust?
Or am I looking at this all wrong? Your thoughts and help would be appreciated before go deeper.

That kind of error indicates there far more than a simple adjustment required. If the watch has not been serviced, that is step #1...

Yes , I have cleaned and lubricated it (except the pallet fork exit jewel). Thanks for the response, what could be step 2 ?

It's very likely then that the balance spring needs to be adjusted for flatness, concentricity, and centering between the regulating pins. Also the spacing of the regulating pins needs to be checked.

The pins look slightly tapering towards the top. I don't know if this is acceptable or not TBH.

Coils are no where near being concentric. regulating pin spacing needs adjusting - pins should be parallel.

Thanks Archer I'll have a go at the pins but the coils I wouldn't know where to start ! Maybe a NOS complete balance is the answer.

Thanks Archer I'll have a go at the pins but the coils I wouldn't know where to start ! Maybe a NOS complete balance is the answer.

The answer is learning how to manipulate balance springs, but I wouldn't recommend you start that process on this watch. I would suggest buying some junkers to learn on...

You will have the same factors to consider if you were to fit a balance complete, be it NOS, or from a donor watch. If you were to consider either of these two options, you’d be better off having the job done for you.