Forums Latest Members

DSoTM Apollo 8 has large Beat Error

1. PeterO Jul 30, 2019

I'm new to luxury watches, and the Apollo 8 is my first and only one so far. This forum has been very helpful for educating me :thumbsup:. My brother, who is a confirmed WIS, sent me his Lepsi watch analyzer, so I've been playing with it. I've found a quiet, non-magnetized area for it, calibrated it, and set the lift angle to 50 degrees.

My methodology is to attach the watch to the holder, position the holder in the desired orientation, let the watch sit for at least 10 minutes, then run the test for approximately 10 minutes. I've been doing just the Dial on Top tests for several days with repeatable results.

Yesterday I did the first all-position tests, with these results:

[​IMG]

My concern is the significant beat error for Dial on Top and Crown on Left.

In general, the watch runs about 2 sec/day fast, sitting dial up for about 10 hours/day and on my wrist the rest of the time.

Is the large Beat Error a problem that I should have looked at? My forum searches haven't uncovered what the beat error limits are, but everything shows errors in the 0-0.4ms range. The Amplitude also shows a large variation between positions. Is this normal?

Thanks for any advice!

Peter

2. swish77 Jul 30, 2019

The technical stuff is over my head, but if your Speedmaster is within 2 seconds a day, I'd be very happy. That's great for a mechanical watch and certainly within specs. What's the power reserve, which I believe is supposed to be 48 hours?

stevec14 likes this.
  3. M'Bob Jul 30, 2019

Not the only one...

image.jpeg

4. bama2141 Jul 30, 2019

Are you performing the tests at full wind?

5. PeterO Jul 30, 2019

In this case it was about 6 hours after winding. Other tests showing the large error in the Dial on Top position had been done with full winding and roughly 10 hours after winding.

6. PeterO Jul 31, 2019