Forums Latest Members
  1. watch_treasures Jul 18, 2018

Hello:

This is my first post and I am picturing an Omega 30T2 that I purchased many years ago. I was told by a contributor at another forum that this is a 1942 Omega 30T2 6B/159. Unfortunately a previous owner must have removed the markings from the case back. Any comments would be appreciated.

I was curious if the hands are corect for this watch. I was told that the crown is incorrect.

I will add some posts for other vintage Omegas at a later date.

Thanks,

Rick

[​IMG]

[​IMG]
    [​IMG] [​IMG]

2. Dan S Jul 18, 2018

Welcome to OF. It's hard to go wrong with a 30T2, and I do like the case and dial on your watch. 1942 sounds about right and strictly speaking the movement is a 30T2 SC, because of the center seconds layout. I have no knowledge of the reference.

Indeed, the sweep seconds hand looks a bit short, so it could be a replacement, or perhaps the tip broke off. As for the hour and minute hands, I have seen feuille, dauphine, and alpha hands on 30T2 watches, so who's to say that whip-and-spade couldn't also have been used. They appear to be the right length. Someone else who is intimately familiar with this reference may have first-hand knowledge.

watch_treasures likes this.
  3. bubba48 Jul 19, 2018

Wonderful military watch; probably an AM 6B/159.

Syrte likes this.
  4. Syrte MWR Tech Support Dept Jul 19, 2018

The person who opined on the other forum is one of the most knowledgeable persons I know of on these types of watches.
    The seconds hand is indeed a replacement as the correct one should have an oval counterpoise.
    The other hands are correct. The crown is an incorrect replacement but a member from "the other forum" has commissioned a batch of restauration replacements made like the original and may still have a few available.
    The dial is lovely.
    Regs

Edited Jul 19, 2018
    watch_treasures and Dan S like this.
  5. Watchvintage Aug 28, 2018