Forums Latest Members
  1. RobCool1 Jan 10, 2020

Hi everyone, first post on here so please bare with me as I don't know an awful lot about watches (although I do love them), I don't wear it often due to what i do for work so i wear a G-Shock most of the time, this is my first vintage and 'proper' watch I have owned.
    I have had this omega for a couple of years now which was passed down from my dad's that he was given by a close family friend some time ago. I think he purchased it in the 70's but I'm not sure when exactly.

After some research I have found it to be a 166.088, I'm assuming it has the original movement in but I don't know and am reluctant to remove the case as I have no experience with this.

The strap is a 1171/1 with 650 end links, do you think this was original with the watch or changed at a later date?

What information do you have on this? The movement etc I would like to know more about it as I haven't been able to find much and like to find out the history of vintage things like this.

IMG20200108143129.jpg IMG20200108143018.jpg IMG20200108142957.jpg IMG20200108143050.jpg IMG20200108143039.jpg IMG20200108143112.jpg

Everything works as it should, it does loose 2-3 minutes over a few days but I don't wear it often so that doesn't bother me much. Is this normal for this type of watch and it's age to do this?
    I believe it was serviced around 4 years ago but I can't confirm this without asking my dad.

I think generally from others I have seen its in pretty good condition? Considering until I received it it was worn almost everyday! The glass has a few scratches and the face has a few cracks but I guess for a watch this old that's relatively normal to expect?

What do you think a watch in this condition is worth? I've seen them for sale for various prices but haven't found one in this configuration (strap etc)