Forums Latest Members
  1. sailingjab1977 Sep 29, 2016

Hi,

I'm not sure if this is in the right place, as its not new, but I would say not vintage - if it's in the wrong place let me know and I can repost elsewhere.

I have a Seamaster 2501.20 with the calibre 1109 movement which I've owned since knew (bought for my 18th Birthday by my parents).

Since new I've had an issue with it not running after a night off my wrist, a long way from the 44hrs claimed. It has been returned a number of times to Omega, and whilst it might be fine short term, it returns to its hopeless state at some point afterwards. My Rolexes work fine (16700 GMT Master 1 with the Pepsi dial, and a late issue Explorer 1) and indeed the Omega lives in the safe and I wear my GMT Master.

I decided recently to get my Seamaster out and found it won't hold its charge, and tbh feels a bit rough in winding (so haven't worn it). I've contacted Omega UK and spoke with one of their agents, who denies there is an issues with the 1109 movement (but I read there are issues with certain watches not holding their charge) and have offered to have a look at it at the UK service centre. I've requested that it be returned to Switzaland for evaluation which they will do, but in an extended return date.

This leads to a couple of questions -

Have Omega ever excepted there is an issue with the calibre 1109 movement, as my watch type was swiftly updated with the 1120 movement after about three years?

Am I better returning it to Switzaland rather than have it services in the UK by them?

Should Omega be servicing it as the cost is possibly going to be half the value of the watch?

Given its history, should I expect some contribution by Omega to the repair costs?

Can the calibre 1109 be updated to the 1120, or at least be made suitably relatable that it will last (5-10) years between a service?

Thank you for any advise.

James

Edited Sep 29, 2016
  2. Archer Omega Qualified Watchmaker Sep 30, 2016