Forums Latest Members

Newbie - Trying to learn about this Omega Constellation

1. theturtles01 May 31, 2015

Hello everyone! This is my first time posting on a forum and I am looking to steal some of your expertise! I have only been browsing the forum for an hour or so but can already tell everyone is very knowledgeable and friendly. :)

My boyfriend recently had this watch passed down to him and we were hoping to gather some information on it. I have always loved watches but never considered collecting anything vintage until I saw this one... I think this is the beginning of a very expensive hobby...

I think this watch is late 1950s but am not sure... Also, if you have any advice on how to take care of this watch I would really appreciate it (total omega newbie).

Thanks!

DSC_0249.jpg DSC_0250.jpg DSC_0251.jpg
    Edited May 31, 2015
    axiale and travisrock like this.
  2. CanberraOmega Rabbitohs and Whisky Supporter May 31, 2015

Welcome!
    Your boyfriend has scored himself a solid gold watch! My first pIece of advice is DONT WEAR IT OR WIND IT until it has been serviced. Wearing/winding it now could do serious damage to the gears as the lubricating oil will have completely gummed up. Where do you live? We might be able to recommend someone

@dsio or @kyle L might be worth moving this thread to vintage advice?

travisrock likes this.
  3. cristos71 May 31, 2015

Looks dodgy to me, I´d go as far to say a fake. I´m concerned that the case is not the solid 18kt gold that it purports to be either. Observatory is completely wrong and it looks like a bit of wear through on the back of the lugs. Can you open it up for some pictures of the movement and inside case back just to be sure?

Edited May 31, 2015
    Giff2577 and JimInOz like this.
  4. CanberraOmega Rabbitohs and Whisky Supporter May 31, 2015

We would need photos of the inside to give detailed info.

5. travisrock May 31, 2015