Forums Latest Members

New to the forum, opening request for assistance on cal 751

1. secretsauce604 It's mayo, French dressing, relish, and vinegar. Jul 17, 2015

Greetings all, I'm very new to the forum, and delighted with the amount of solid information that's been built up by passionate collectors and officiandos. I'm particularly interested in vintage Seamasters, and have a question for those far more experienced than myself.

I have a 1968 Seamaster dual date chrono with cal 751 movement, keeping good time between -10/+4 depending on wearing angle, good amplitude >200, and the date plunger is working very well. The problem, or perhaps issue, I'm experiencing is the calendar day advances intuitively around the midnight mark, but the calendar date doesn't advance until 6:30am or so. I'd like to know if there's a subtle operation I can do with the crown to get the day and date to advance reasonably close to one another, instead of the 6 hour offset I'm seeing now. Or is this just something I'll need to live with until its next service? Could this problem degrade further as I let the watch wind all the way down from time to time?

Fortunately I don't really check the date until 9am or so when the work day is in full swing, but it does drive me a little crazy anyway. I just took this photo while writing this, so THU is in the middle of advancing to FRI - 16 will advance to 17 at about 6:30am.

Thanks everyone for reading!

[​IMG]

Peemacgee likes this.
  2. Mothra Jul 17, 2015

Nice sparkle dial Seamaster chrono. I think this is one of those things that needs to be done by a watchmaker. What's it's service history (I'm secretly betting you don't know at which point I can sagely recommend a service now anyway)?

3. CanberraOmega Rabbitohs and Whisky Supporter Jul 17, 2015

4. secretsauce604 It's mayo, French dressing, relish, and vinegar. Jul 17, 2015