Forums Latest Members

New to the forum in need of some advice (Speedmaster Reduced)

1. The Champ Jun 11, 2020

Hi all, been lurking for a while and used various threads for information when researching pieces but only just now joined as I wanted some advice from the forum on an issue I have.

Apologies if this is not the correct forum to post in or protocol when needing help, but I couldn't see anything in the sticky threads to say otherwise. If this shouldn't be here then by all means please move to the relevant area thanks.

I'm relatively new to watch collecting, and tend to only buy watches I like as opposed to for any investment opportunity.

I've bought a few older Omegas and love each of them but have recently acquired a Speedmaster Reduced from a seller on Ebay/Internet (I wont mention them just in case, but I had found a thread on here about them previously)

I've had the watch since mid April but due to the lockdown have only really worn it a couple of times. This week I've noticed that the watch is not 'holding a charge' for want of a better expression, once taken off, the watch stops after a couple of minutes, I've hand wound it to get it re-started, worn on the wrist for a full day and also used a Wolf watch winder at other time, but the problem still persists.

The strange bit for me though is that if I start the chronograph running then the watch works perfectly (has been running fine all day), if I stop it then the watch stops after a couple of minutes, obviously this cant be right and I don't want to have to run the chronograph permanently as I hear this isn't great for the watch. I'm awaiting a response from the vendor as it was claimed to have been serviced prior to selling, but I wanted to see what the good people on this forum had to say about this issue. Is it a common fault or am I doing something wrong? I am new to this game and apologies if I have used some wrong terminology, I just to ensure that I've not got a dud on my hands