New to the forum, after some authentication tips

Hi all,

First time poster here on OF.

I'm very new to the scene of Omegas and luxury watches in general. My only prior knowledge of wind up and auto watches is my dad's Roamer Stingray, which he wound up selling on eBay. Somehow I've become deeply engrossed within the watch world over the past few weeks, and have began the search for my first Omega.

I've been searching in Japan where I've found a considerable amount of >1990s Speedys, Seamasters (as well as Planet Oceans) and Aquaterras for reasonable money. I've bought items from YAJ many times in the past, but I've had cold feet on a few watches as I'm simply not knowledgeable enough on Omega yet to roll the dice.

Eg. I found a great Aqua Terra, came with box, documentation and warranty ect, but it looked as if the last few digits of the serial no. on the lug had been polished off or had worn away. In saying this, the first 5 or so digits did seem to match the warranty. I saw the same sort of story on a Speedmaster, however the entire serial didn't seem to be present in photos of the lugs. Is this common/just concurrent with use and typical polishing?

Additionally, there was no photo of the movement in the photos of the Aquaterra. Is it typically a no-go to purchase an Omega without seeing photos of the movement to confirm it's authenticity? Further to this, what are the most notable issues to look at when inspecting photos of any of the aforementioned models? I've tried to compare stock photos, however you begin to second guess tiny details which may just be related to the angle of the photos taken by the seller.