Forums Latest Members
  1. RonaldN Feb 26, 2021

Hi there,

This is formally my first post as new member in this forum, but I need to say there is "subtle" caveat in this statement (bear with me for a few minutes...).

First of all, I need to stress that English is not my mother tongue. French is. This may explain that I may not necessarily get all the subtleties of some of the posts shared on this forum by native English speakers and will possibly express myself using seemingly awkward sentences. I am doing my best (trust me) to be clear in what I am trying to convey.

My name is Ronald. I am (almost) 48, married, father of three beautiful daughters (trust my judgment on this ;)), owner of a cat and a dog, and watch and motorsport enthusiast. I live in Switzerland, in the Lake Geneva region, not that far away from the Watch Valley.

I have an engineering background (I studied Microengineering at the Swiss Federal Institute of Technology – or “EPFL” – in Lausanne) but have in effect specialized in Intellectual Property matters right after completing my engineering studies.

You may think that growing in Switzerland, next to the Watch Valley, may automatically turn you into a watch enthusiast, but that was not really my case. I only happened to learn more about watchmaking and the watch industry upon joining the Swatch Group as a patent attorney trainee back in November 1997. I stayed there for almost seven years, becoming a qualified European Patent Attorney in the process, and left the Swatch Group in 2004 to work in an entirely different industry sector for almost fourteen years. I had a couple of occasions during that post-Swatch period to sporadically handle IP-related matters touching on watchmaking technology.

Since December 2017 I have joined the ranks of a private IP practice located in Lausanne, Switzerland, which fortunately gives me opportunities to deal with watchmaking technology, from an IP perspective, on a more regular basis.