Forums Latest Members
  1. GordonL May 25, 2017

hello folks,
    I've joined recently and thought I'd introduce myself. I'm Gordon, I live in Scotland and work as an engineer on radar systems. I've been an Omega fan since I got a (hardback) copy of "The Moon Watch" a few years back. As an engineer, I was VERY impressed that a mechanical watch would not only survive, but continue to keep time over the range of environmental test scenarios that NASA imposed on the Speedmaster back in the 60s. Back in the late 1970s I worked on the bombing system for the Harrier aircraft - it contained analogue computers which were at least as complicated as watch movements, and I know how difficult it was to keep them operational. Andf they never went anywhere near space!
    While I can't see myself being able to afford a "Speedie" for a while yet, I would like to buy myself an Omega - maybe a Constellation or a Seamaster. Vintage, not recent!

I'm so impressed by wealth of information available on this forum. You can be sure I'll be reading everything very closely before committing funds to a purchase. The very range of the stuff on ebay puts me off - can I generally assume that the watches for sale on this forum are what they claim to be?
    cheers

Gordon

Foo2rama, PhilN, ahartfie and 6 others like this.
  2. cicindela Steve @ ΩF Staff Member May 25, 2017

First thing you have to do is get yourself a beagle.

3. kingsrider Thank you Sir! May I have another? May 25, 2017

No time like the present. You can start modest and build. The advantage of this "club" is that there will be guidance for you if you are willing to accept it.

4. Maganator May 25, 2017

Hi Gordon

Where are you based? There's a couple of us from in and around Edinburgh.