Forums Latest Members

Need Opinion/Advice: Looking for Box (Constellation 168.017)

1. Heisen0erg Jul 14, 2020

Hello guys and girls

It's my first time writing here after being a quiet reader for a long time.

I have bought my first vintage Omega dated 1969. An Omega Constellation C Shape 18k Gold Cap 168.017 with a linen dial and a cal 564. I have never owned a gold watch (but wanted one) and wasn't a fan of gold plated watches (since they are prone to losing their golden finish) but after stumbling across a gold capped watch (a term I needed to research because I never heard it before), I started liking it. The linen dial is beautiful and remindS me of an vintage JLC that had a silver linen dial. Unfortunately, I missed the auction and regret not buying it.

Anyways, I tried to research some facts about the watch and tried to figure out if it has been tampered with.

Luckily for me, I did find an exact copy of the watch on the internet for comparison purposes.

Here is my summary:

Dial & Crystal
    Looks fairly clean and I can't see anything that would make me think that it was a redial. The text is uniform and perfectly aligned. The applied golden star looks how it should. The minute markers are all original (no repaint whatsoever).

The fact that it didn't have any tritium is a big plus for me. I have seen some dials getting destroyed by the radiation. The damage is most likely permanent and when the tritium dots finally fall off, it destroys the aesthetics of the watch.

Crystal doesn't have much scratches but is unfortunately not an original Omega one (missing Omega logo in the center)

Hand
    At first I was suspicious because I couldn't find a similar watch with blacked out hour and minutes hand. But after finding a 1:1 counter example, it was clear that the hands where the right ones. And it makes sense for them to be black since gold hands on gold dials wouldn't allow for a quick time check.

Case