My watchmaker told me I don't need to test for water resistance

Hello Omega Forums,

My question today is about testing water resistance on a used watch. I bought this first generation Aqua Terra 2504.50 from a private seller on a forum and it just arrived. I'm really happy with it! There are some scratches and dings but considering this watch is 14-20 years old it looks great! The seller did not provide any service history and it is running about 20 seconds slow per day. This is my first watch with a screw down crown and over 30m water resistance so I'm new to this, but I've read some people online say you have to have the water resistance checked quite frequently, some saying every single year.

I went my local watch repair shop to fix a dislodged hour index from another watch (a similar year De Ville Prestige). I ask him about testing the water resistance on my Aqua Terra. He says "Is there something wrong with it?" I say no but explain how it can be 20 years old and I'll be going on a cruise in February and want it tested. He mentions he can do this but he would have to hold onto the watch for a couple days. He inspects the watch in his hands, he sees the screw down crown is operating correctly, he looks all around including the display back and says "As long as the gaskets and the crown are OK the watch should be fine. Don't spend the money to have it tested". I ask "Can I swim in it?" and he says yes.

So I come here to you fine and knowledgeable folks for your opinion. He could have charged me money to test my watch but he didn't. I am no watch maker so I'm wondering if it is even possible for him to see the gaskets without opening the watch. Could he be right? Should I insist he test it? Should I take it to another watch repair shop to test it? Is it OK if I wash the watch in soap and running water for now? Swim with it?

Thank you for reading!