Forums Latest Members
  1. Jdalt Oct 23, 2013

I just received my first Longines, a 1953 14K with 23Z movement thanks to X350 XJR. Here is a wrist shot.... Longines 1953 23ZWrist Shot.JPG

My first impression of the watch was that it looked new! Other than the small mark on the dial (not noticeable even on the picture), it looked perfect. Hats off to Norman for excellent servicing of this one! My second impression was that it was small (30.6mm) as the smallest watch I own previous to this purchase is a 34mm Gruen. After wearing it, however, it grew on me. I also realized the historical perspective in the sense that this was considered a mid sized men's watch at the time. After winding it a few times, I set it to my iphone time and after 36 hours gained 2 seconds! I am a relative newbie to the world of watches and certainly new to Longines brand but my research so far though on Longines has revealed their mechanisms were on par and even exceeded Omega in the 50s and maybe 60s.

I have a few questions for the Forum. First, is this normal for a 60 year old (albeit serviced) Longines 23Z to keep such good time? Second, of the commonly used Longines wind up mechanisms at the time (12.68N, 23Z, 22L, 370, 30L), which one, if any, is "better"?

Any input would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,

Jason

2. ulackfocus Oct 23, 2013

Hi Jason. You got a sweet watch. Thought about it myself because the dial is so cool.

Yes, it's easily the norm for a watch the quality of Longines to keep such good time as long as the maintenance is kept and the parts are in good order. Their manual wind watches were the benchmark of the 40's, 50's, and 60's.