Forums Latest Members

Modern Beater Turned My Collection into a Collection

1. watchknut New watch + Instagram + wife = dumbass Mar 11, 2017

Up until a month ago, I had been wearing a vintage watch 90% of the time for about 20 years.

I had modern watches sprinkled in here and there, but they never stayed around for very long or got much wrist time.

As my collection grew over the last couple of years, with last year bringing some collector grade pieces into the fold, I was wearing vintage 100% of the time.

A month ago I bought a modern watch, a Panerai 005, and since that time, I have worn a vintage watch 2 days...blasphemy I know!

As silly as it sounds, my life is a bit easier as I am 100% worry free about my watch for the first time in years, and I really enjoy wearing the 005.

Knowing that a scratch won't crush the value, that the movement won't require a special service, and that parts are no issue is a piece of mind.

For the time being, wearing vintage is a treat for me, and my collection is more of a true collection then ever before.

Will it last? Who knows, but it is an interesting change of pace.

2. Larry S Color Commentator for the Hyperbole. Mar 11, 2017

7 modern watches bought new get worn for sport, travel, weekends, drippy days. Vintage Rolex can do wet weather duty but swimming is out. The rest are fair weather friends.

watchdaddy1, sxl2004 and watchknut like this.
  3. Taddyangle Convicted Invicta Wearer Mar 11, 2017

No wrist shot?

cvera likes this.
  4. watchknut New watch + Instagram + wife = dumbass Mar 11, 2017

Etp095, George.A, Darlinboy and 11 others like this.
  5. oddboy Zero to Grail+2998 In Six Months Mar 11, 2017

So that's how paneristi are born!

Etp095, George.A, Larry S and 4 others like this.
  6. watchknut New watch + Instagram + wife = dumbass Mar 11, 2017

Totally...when you want a watch you truly do not care about and do not want a Seiko!

@Archer is high on these for a reason.