Forums Latest Members
  1. Hamish02 Nov 15, 2019

Hi all,

I’m not sure if this has been discussed before but please direct me to the correct place; I’ve googled and watched a couple of videos which have been semi-informative.

I’m interested in how the Omega manufacturing process had changed over time; are the movements now machine made rather than by hand and are the dials printed rather than painted? How were the cases constructed originally and how much has the process been modified?

Take the classic Speedy for example; very similar in looks since the 60s, bar the odd things like lume and movement modifications, dial variations etc but how are they produced now and then? I sometimes see modern Seamasters and think they lack the look of time put into their predecessors.

If machines are taking over, what are people’s thoughts on the value, worth or just general thoughts on modern watches that are mass produced rather than constructed by hand?

I have zero knowledge here so just looking into how the final product is produced.

Thank you.

KingCrouchy and DaveK like this.
  2. Canuck Nov 15, 2019

There has never been a better time to ask a question like yours. But unfortunately, I know of no one source that will lay out the process of manufacturing watches in an A to Z sequence which it sounds like you might be looking for. There is a veritable banquet of choices on the internet that will show the processes from numerous factories over the many decades of watch production. From watch production in the early 20th century (check out Making of an Illinois watch), to the factories of Audemar Piguet, to Patek, and all the way to the modern factories such as Tissot (System 51), to Swatch,, and probably others. These factories produce watches virtually without human hands having touched them. The information is out there (not necessarily for Omega), but you’ll just have to look for it.

Hamish02 likes this.
  3. budgewink Nov 15, 2019