Forums Latest Members
  1. jaredvdm Sep 28, 2019

Hi everyone. New here. I have a 72 Seamaster (166.065 Cal 565) that you guys helped me find the model and year for.

My neighbour is an elderly gentleman that was given an Omega when he was 18 (so roughly 55 years ago). I asked if he knew anything about it. He said he emailed Omega some time back, but couldn't afford the fee related to obtaining the info. I immediately thought of this forum.

I know this isn't according to forum posting guidelines (yes I read the posting format thread), but all I have is a picture I took in haste and a short back story.

The watch was given to him by a family friend who had it for quite some time. Close to 30 years he said. It's a manual. I noticed the lack of "swiss made" at the bottom of the dial, but I understand that it's not always a bad sign. The "2" in number 12 really peaked my interest, as I've never seen the font before.

Anyways, I appreciate any help I can get.

IMG_7424.jpg
  2. Syrte MWR Tech Support Dept Sep 28, 2019

It’s a very lovely watch in a typical 1940s style, the style of the numerals also typical of the period (there’s a thread in the UG subforum about so called « deco numerals »).

I don’t know much about Omega, but I reckon the caliber ought be a 26.5 or a 30T2.
    What’s the diameter? It looks like a fairly big size?

Other more knowledgeable folks I’m sure will soon chime in. @JimInOz @Tire-comedon

3. JimInOz Melbourne Australia Sep 28, 2019

Looks to be a mid 1940s "Omega 30mm" (just guessing) with an original dial, nice blued steel "Plume" style hands and unusual but attractive numerals.

I think @Syrte is close with the caliber, but only opening it will tell.

I'd like to see more of it.

Where in the world is it located?

Foo2rama likes this.
  4. mac_omega Sep 28, 2019

Going by the style of the hands and the case it looks like a pretty early example out of the Cal. 30 family - could be a Cal. 30 or 30 T1

5. jaredvdm Sep 28, 2019

Hey everyone.