Forums Latest Members

Looking for guidance on Omega Speedmaster Moonwatch

1. Compass Rose Apr 29, 2014

Hi all. I want to get my husband an Omega Speedmaster Moonwatch for our 10th anniversary next year, but did a quick online search and was quickly overwhelmed by the variety and range in prices.

I'm hoping that someone here might offer some insight into the types of Moonwatches available, the best place(s) to buy one, and how to avoid counterfeits or other pitfalls.

Thanks in advance!

2. NiklasARvid Apr 29, 2014

If he is not into vintage watches, get him a real moonwatch, standard setup with black dial, black tachymeter and the manually wound 861 caliber from 1970- onwards, most classic, good price and most stylish imho, reference numbers are 145.022, 3570.50 and possibly some later ones that I am no expert in

this forums sales corner would be my recommendation for place of purchase:
    http://omegaforums.net/forums/watches-for-sale/

[​IMG]

3. Darlinboy Pratts! Will I B******S!!! Apr 29, 2014

Great gift! And more appreciated here no doubt, where we're all a bit nuts for watches.;)

My best advice... Contact member Kringkily here on the forums. You can do that via private message. Tell George what you want and your budget, and I am sure he will help you find something that fits the bill. :thumbsup:

George is a very well-known and regarded seller here and other watch forums, and specializes in Speedmaster moon watches.

Good luck with the hunt, and congratulations on the anniversary.

4. Spacefruit Prolific Speedmaster Hoarder Apr 29, 2014

Solid advice.

go with a trusted seller, unless you wish to "go deep" into the knowledge pool.

the plethora of models Omega labeled Speedmaster following the success of the 69 moon landings has produced a confusion.

my advice, is to stick to the true "Moonwatch" or it's modern equivalent.

Ignore all automatics.

5. Jimmy Jim Apr 29, 2014

+1 on both of these!

6. dsio Ash @ ΩF Staff Member Apr 29, 2014