Forums Latest Members

Looking for advice about Vintage Seamaster and question about one bizarre discovery.

1. Scolpe May 7, 2020

Dear vintage Omega lovers,
    as this is my first post, I would like to thank you for accepting me to this community.
    Without further ado, I would like to consult with you two of my newest discoveries. Both are Seamasters, one is dated around 1961, second is dated around 1971. As I am still a newbie (although I've done my research faithfully) I would like to also ask you about advice whether the watches seem to be original or not, and what parts could possibly been replaced. Thank you in advance and I hope that we could have constructive discussion guys!

I. My proudest finding in this week. Omega Seamaster, Cal. 491, 1961.
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    Case seems original but well preserved. Strap may not be (although I am not sure). Original box included. No photos of mechanism, which is troubling. Frankly, I am afraid that I could find little frankenstein inside.

II. My less impressive discovery, although still interesting. Seamaster, cal. 166, 1973.
    [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG]
    Strap in not original (provided in description). Rest - make your own judge.

III. The third one is really interesting, as I was pretty sure that it was pure fake. There is only a one "but": mechanism may by an original one (although I could misjudged it).
    [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG]
    Here you've got 711 photo, just for comparison: http://www.urdelar.se/Omega 711

Take a look, give your opinion, do not hesitate ;) I am not only looking for advice, but I am also just curious about your opinion, I hope that we could discuss these findings a little ;)

Timo832000 likes this.
  2. Dan S May 7, 2020

Welcome to the forum. Just so we understand the context, when you say "discoveries", do you mean that you discovered these watches in your possession? Like an inheritance? Or you discovered them on-line and you are considering buying them?