Forums Latest Members

I've gone to the dark side...

1. watchos Jul 26, 2018

I've despised Rolex as a brand for a long time for a number of reasons. Among those reasons is the rep Rolex owners get for being assholes. Not trying to offend anyone here, it's just a we'll know fact. Most of their so called icon designs have never appealed to me: Daytona, Submariner or the clicops Datejust. Their fluted bezels and jubilee bracelets are just awful imo. Specially the classic gold version. Omega on the other hand had always appealed to me since I was a teenager, starting with the Seamaster, in part thanks to our favorite secret agent.

Last year about the time I got my Speedmaster my wife bought a Rolex Oyster Perpetual. I was genuinely impressed. Apart from their logo(dial and buckle) everything seems really well designed. Simple. Elegant. Functional. Slowly I warmed my self up to various Rolex models. Still tied to my old misconceptions about the brand, I kept up with their news and releases.

Finally, the Explorer 1 caught my eyes a few months ago. I read about its history, different models, evolution, etc. I was intrigued. Less than a week ago I was finally able to wear one. There were many things I did not expect. Like the decreasing width of the bracelet as it reaches the buckle. A lot more noticeable difference from the Speedmaster and Aquaterra I've been wearing. I almost bought the watch, but didn't at the last minute. Something felt strange while wearing it.

After more research and visiting other ADs to look at other watches I've been stalking I decided get it. Looked at a few JLC, IWC, Nomos and a Bremont. One key thing that attracted me to this one was it's simple yet elegant black dial. I was hoping Omega release an update Railmaster with a flat black dial and elegant markets but that didn't happen. They went with the denim version and more textured dials similar to the Aquaterras on the new Seamasters. Here's my short list of requirements for this watch: