Forums Latest Members
  1. CheekyWeMonkey Jun 18, 2014

Hi All

My first real post on here so be gentle.

I have known Mothra (Stu) for more years than I care to comment on and have avoided getting sucked into some of his passions. Motorbikes I have managed to avoid completely. Ice Diving was a very simple "No thanks". But Watches is a fight I seem to be finally losing. I took a couple of tentative steps last year, though they were not that successful and then life got in the way. However have started once again this year looking at things, with a more considered eye. A couple of weeks ago I spotted this interesting little Seamaster 600 which plucked at my heart strings despite there being only one poor quality photo. I studied it hard and decided that most of the damage seemed to be on the Crystal rather than the dial so thought it was worth a punt. Well for less than £90 including costs and shipping it's now in my hands. And from what I can currently tell I was correct. Stu's comment on getting a look at it was "Lucky, lucky...sod". Well that was the polite version. The dial not only looks clean as far as I can tell so far but it also runs and keeps time. Having cracked it open tonight it's a Calibre 611, 17 jewel, adjusted 2 positions with Reference number 24054402. The case back has the Seamaster logo on it and inside has the number 136.012. This is where things vary slightly from the only other detailed information Stu and I were able to dig up on a similar one http://forums.watchnet.com/?t=rview&th=229778&goto=291424 which has 136.001. Checking the vintage database 136.0011 gives descriptions including Seamaster 600 but 136.0012 refers to Geneve. Would this mean that it's a replacement back or just an anomaly of production/database?