Forums Latest Members
  1. ShaneMason Oct 1, 2020

I purchased a new Globemaster Constellation on Saturday. Wore it to a meeting today and after I went to my car where I noticed the wrist section of the strap was scratched. Now, I'm definitely no expert on watches or metals but I can't help but think the watch shouldn't have scratched this much (I'm a senior manager in a large company, so don't do anything manual for work) and judging by where the scratches are: it seems to be where I have rested my arms on the table. I've asked two other watch enthusiasts who are friends of mine over here in the UK their opinions and both have said it is sub-standard / poor quality and I should return it to the store. What are your thoughts? Is this my negligence, or is it indeed not expected to be scratched so badly after less than a week?
    [​IMG] [​IMG]

2. Evitzee Oct 1, 2020

18k gold is softer than SS. It has to be treated as such. Not defective.

3. ShaneMason Oct 1, 2020

Thank you! Any advice on how to buff it out? Will cape cod polishing cloth work perhaps?

4. Canuck Oct 1, 2020

I suspect you’ll have to become accustomed to scratches. The dealer MAY do something for you.......this time. There’s no sense thinking that exchanging it for another watch will be the answer. Tungsten carbide or ceramic watches will be more scratch resistant, but they bring a whole lot of different problems.

ShaneMason likes this.
  5. ShaneMason Oct 1, 2020

Thanks for your reply. To be honest, I'd much rather keep it and polish the scratches out if I can - any ideas or advice on the best methods to use?

6. bigsom Oct 1, 2020

I would leave the scratches as they are part of the watch now and that's personally worth more to me than shiny mid links. They'll always scratch. You could polish them every year, but why remove the gold you paid for ;-)

7. ShaneMason Oct 1, 2020