Forums Latest Members

Is this a redial or I don't understand reflections?

1. Slideit Aug 20, 2019

Etp095 likes this.
  2. TexOmega Aug 20, 2019

looks original and mighty fine to me

3. Lurk41 Aug 20, 2019

I am not an expert of checking paint on the markers, but here it seems pretty even and it spreads across the whole index sides. Even if it looks white in the pictures, the sides are too "clean" for me to have some paint on it: it is the reflection of the white dial.
    I guess that when looking for paint on index, it is more about "speckles" (not sure if the word is correct), uneven look / paint stains on the sides of the markers.

Most of the time I spot a redial (now even of models I never saw before) because of the typo (uneven spacing, not sharp, same letters that look a bit different) and the secondary (painted) markers that are not all pointing to the same direction. People that are able to reproduce these 2 things perfectly are also capable enough to not put any paint on the markers. If I do not see anything wrong and I am interested in the watch, then I look for other examples and/or model history guide to confirm it is legit. But I never check for paint on the markers...

I do not know this model and I do not know too much the Seamaster typo and its evolution. But at first glance it seems legit. If it is a redial, it was well done.

Slideit likes this.
  4. Mac5 Aug 20, 2019

Looks very good. Did you buy it?

5. Slideit Aug 20, 2019

No, thinking about it. New to vintage, doing my head in!

6. Tigeranteater Aug 20, 2019

It looks legit and doesn’t set any alarms off for me but take what I say with a grain of salt as I am fairly new. Trust the opinions of the knowledgeable people here.

Slideit likes this.
  7. rkny18 Aug 20, 2019