Forums Latest Members
  1. Gogom Dec 28, 2018

Deal all,

I found this unusual example dial with arabic numbering, which the seller claim its a special order from UAE to omega back in late 60s, i'm new to vintage omega, is the movement and the rest part legit? i would appreciate a feed back regarding this piece.

Thank you cheers

Vintage_Rare_Omega_Seamaster_for_UAE_1967.jpg IMG_20180504_WA0028_scaled.jpg IMG_20180504_WA0027_scaled.jpg IMG_20180504_WA0029_scaled.jpg
  2. KingCrouchy Dec 28, 2018

Hands are probably not the original one, the Mouvement is legit and is a Cal 1020 and was first introduced in 1972, so the watch can't be from late 1960s. I would ask for a picture of the inside of the caseback. To judge the crown we would need a side shot of the watch.
    Can't judge if the dial is a redial for sure. Ask also for a picture of the clasp of the bracelet, to judge if it's a genuine one.

Edited Dec 28, 2018
  3. pennsyl936 Dec 28, 2018

What does the seller offer to back up the claim that it was special order from UAE in late sixties?

As a side note - the UAE was founded in Dec1971.

asrnj77, Mark020, Gogom and 1 other person like this.
  4. Foo2rama Keeps his worms in a ball instead of a can. Dec 28, 2018

As noted the hands are not original as they have no lume. These dials seem to pop up randomly. As for this dial leaving the factory that way... no way to know unless marked on the extract. Everything but the numbers seem original quality.

5. Gogom Dec 28, 2018

Thanks for the advice, i will get more info on that, im suspecting the hands is AM since the most common seamaster from this time has a lume

6. Gogom Dec 28, 2018

There is no evidence regarding this claim, even i do some research to find the similar example in existance, there is none, if its a redial or AM dial, its should be very unusual to do

7. Foo2rama Keeps his worms in a ball instead of a can. Dec 28, 2018