Forums Latest Members
  1. sheepdoll Jul 22, 2022

Greetings all;

My name is Julie. I have been collecting Omega watches and ephemera since the 1990s. At the time I worked for Apple. My expertise is in the postscript printing language. I was what they called a 'Postscript Guru.'

My real interest is in the Jaquet-Droz automatons. Which I have extensively studied and am building a replica. I was also a member of the NAWCC during the 1990s and secretary of the San Francisco chapter. I have a complete watch shop which I collected. Sadly I was told I was to old (when in my 30s) for WOSTEP. So I never got any formal training.

After I aged out of the tech industry at 40, I took up working on pipe organs. specifically fairground organs. I use my watch bench to work on microelectronics. What are called microcontrollers. I design and repair relay systems for theater pipe organs. Some of this involves scanning the old paper rolls (and books) which are then converted to MIDI.

I have not done much with my watches in the last 15 to 18 years. Recently I was invited to Bern to give a lecture on piano roll scanning with postscript at the Hochshule der Kunst. I did not have time to get to Bienne, but last a last minute change of plan did get me a day trip to Neuchâtel.

Part of the reason I stopped working on watches was I needed a mainspring for a caliber 650. The recent trip revived interest in my Omega collection which is comprehensive. I have been watching you tube repair videos and am considering updating some tools and getting back into watchmaking. Sadly I have lost the click for the 650. I found a movement on ebay - so we will see how that goes.

I never liked any watch stuff online, as the first spammers used watches as goats to attract attention. However I have been checking this forum out for a bit. What I would really like to find is a safe way to swap and trade like the old NAWCC marts were before the my friends died and e-Bay ruined the fun of watch collecting.