Forums Latest Members
  1. backfourseconds Oct 17, 2019

Hi all,

I'm a timepiece noob but recently found a Constellation at an estate auction that I couldn't pass up.
    It was purchased without papers or service history knowledge so it was a gamble for sure.
    It turned out to be in pretty decent condition upon receiving it.
    I had it looked at and serviced by an independent Omega repairer in Melbourne last month, and it only required a clean, oil, and new strap.
    I've also taken it to the Omega store in Melbourne cbd earlier this week for some additional information and requested some pictures of the case back and movement (still waiting on these to be emailed through).
    They did provide the following information after the tech opened it:
    Cal: 551
    Cal No. 1773****
    Year: 1959-61
    From my research, that cal no. would make this made in 1959.

I just have a couple of questions regarding this that I'd appreciate some input from the experts.
    - Does it appear to be original? Does anything stand out as being replaced?
    - Can I look at this purchase as an investment? Is it likely to increase in value over time based on the year, cal, 2 lines instead of 3 (no "officially certified" line? I know this is certainly speculative at best.
    - If I were to sell it (which I'm definitely considering) what could I expect to get for it? I'd like to avoid eBay.

Photos below:

Thanks for your time! (hah)

20191016_091617-01.jpeg 20191016_091634-01.jpeg 20191016_091706-01.jpeg 20191016_091734-01.jpeg 20191016_091805-01.jpeg 20191016_091827-01.jpeg
    Engee likes this.
  2. Verdi Oct 17, 2019

You bought it and wanna sell it for profit, right?

Your questions regarding the originality should have been answered by the watchmaker that serviced it as he/she inspected it closely.

3. cristos71 Oct 17, 2019