Forums Latest Members

Influences on your current collection?

1. sdre Aug 13, 2017

Hey folks.

I guess it's good to give abit of background before I ask my question. I'm a teacher in Asia. I don't make tons of money but I have enough for a place of my own. Wife and I are planning to raise a child in this expensive country of ours. (Singapore)

I started collecting watches about 2 years ago. I went from vintage seikos turtles (horrid time, bought wrong and paid premiums for it) to an Omega speedmaster 145.0022, Rolex Explorer 2, 116610Ln to my current collection of Tudor Black Bay 79220n, Seiko SLA017. Im saving up for a 2016 Omega speedmaster moonwatch.

Admittedly, my biggest influence has been Instagram, hodinkee, a blog to watch and wornandwound. Is it a bad vibe to mention these sites? Because Im aware of people who do not like the mentioned sites.

What's your biggest influence?

2. tyrantlizardrex Aug 13, 2017

I blame the internet...

3. cicindela Steve @ ΩF Staff Member Aug 13, 2017

Well there is this

ex.jpg

4. corn18 Aug 13, 2017

I'm going to say aviation

Kmart, Kreindog24, SamQue and 3 others like this.
  5. GuiltyBoomerang Aug 13, 2017

My fear of walking around in Hong Kong without a known brand/chronograph on my wrist

6. harrymai86 Aug 13, 2017

The fear that even a vintage Seiko chrono is out of reach in a few years

Looneytoons, Kmart, watchknut and 5 others like this.
  7. Larry S Color Commentator for the Hyperbole. Aug 13, 2017

I blame my Montblanc fountain pen of 30 years. It's need for service brought me to the Montblanc boutique in Chicago ... that led to another pen and a Timewalker GMT. Then I blame the web and HODINKEE, Fratello, The Watch Snob, ABTW, JLC, Rolex, the dealer in Paris who showed me a UG Tri for the fist time and sold me my first Vintage speedmaster. Then I found OF........

kov, Kmart, watchknut and 3 others like this.
  8. sdre Aug 13, 2017

Sounds like what I been through ahahaha

Kreindog24 likes this.