Forums Latest Members
  1. Sluggo Feb 2, 2023

Again, I'm a newbie. Interesting thing about 'newbies,' they ask these types of questions. And I'm not allowed to ask in any sales area of OF until I have 200 posts. Then, I did do a search here but nothing popped up.

Question: How much are import duties?

For example, I bought some watch straps off of EBay recently. Now, unsolicited, I get some of their watch listings. There are a number of listings from Japan. Is there a resource somewhere, for Japan in this case, that tells me exactly what duties to expect?

2. gbesq Feb 2, 2023

Import duties and applicable taxes like VAT are owed to your country of residence when you purchase and import goods from another country. Where are you located?

3. Sluggo Feb 2, 2023

Thank you. Answer: USA

4. Syzygy Feb 2, 2023

5. SkunkPrince Feb 2, 2023

For US, basically nothing until yoou pasa a certain threshold, I think it used to be $2500 but see link above.

6. gbesq Feb 2, 2023

You will owe customs duty on imported goods as well as use tax to your state of residence. If you are importing a watch, the seller will need to complete what is known as a watch worksheet which US Customs will use to calcuate the duty owed. The value of the strap/bracelet, watch case and movement are all assessed for duty at different rates. Customs duty in the US is relatively low compared to most other industrialized nations.

7. Dsloan Feb 2, 2023

FWIW, I'm in the US and just paid around $180 in duties on a $2600 purchase. So, I suppose that's about 7%?

bassem abadan likes this.
  8. Syzygy Feb 2, 2023