Forums Latest Members
  1. ibryson May 21, 2018

Hi Omega watch lovers and experts,

I've just recently inherited a watch from my father which was originally my grandfathers and I need some help identifying it and advice on where the best place to get it serviced/restored in Hong Kong. I'm a complete newbie when it comes to vintage watches so any help and advice would be very much appreciated.

Some History. My dad didn't know a great deal about the watch apart from my grandfather either got it before or shortly after ww2. He never mentioned that it was military issue but my grandfather did fight in Burma in the 1940's so it's possible he got it then. The strap is not the original - my father replaced the original strap in the 60's but he said he hadn't replaced anything else, or even serviced it in over 30 years ... and it still works! I've had a good look on the interwebs to try and identify it but I've not managed to see one exactly the same. I've seen a lot of similar watches but not exactly like this one.

As my pictures aren't the best quality a few other observations:

- 32mm diameter
    - all hands are gold color and the numbers appear to have been a gold color
    - no markings on the back of the case
    - the lovely browny/gold color patina on the dial makes me think it is the original
    - crown looks a bit suspect - that possibly could have been replaced at some time

After reading other forum posting I know the only true way to identify it is to take the case off for more details so I took it to an Omega service center in Hong Kong (where I live) to see if they could help but unfortunately the only thing they would do is send it to Switzerland which will cost a small fortune. Should I send it or should I get a local HK watchmaker to take a look? If I go local would anyone have a good recommendation on where I could take it? I'm not selling it - it means too much to me - I just want it serviced properly by someone I can trust.