Forums Latest Members

I need help on a Omega vintage watch, As a beginner

1. Msad May 16, 2019

591511A6-0463-4AC9-AF7F-01B8416462A1.jpeg 0ED66F63-E536-45D7-9B95-1B6F2B18904A.jpeg 373C3C00-5305-4A50-9AB9-C691741473B4.png AA80775D-A580-45B1-A6FD-5526408A05A4.png Hi everyone,

As I am new with Omega vintage watches, which caught my interest not so long ago. I would like to ask experts/enthusiasts regarding a watch I’m keen on buying from the internet.
    The seller has written that it’s an Omega Seamaster 69’ - cal. 613 (recently serviced). Dial has been repainted by an expert, and case has been polished. And also remarked that no original Omega buckle is included in the deal, and that the glass is an aftermarket (acrylic)

What are your thoughts on this watch?

Kind regards

2. Davidt May 16, 2019

It's horrid.

"Polished" generally means the nice clean and sharp lines that the case once had have been rounded off so it looks like it's melted. "Repainted by an expert" means the original dial that was printed in Switzerland has been repainted by Ken in Kent, and now looks nothing like it originally did. Furthermore, it's probably been repainted in black (as is the case here) as they're currently in vogue.

ext1, Noddyman and connieseamaster like this.
  3. Msad May 16, 2019

Thank you for the response!

What about the hands, dial lettering, crown and mechanism inside? Do they seem to be original parts for an Omega-model as mentioned by the seller?

4. Dan S May 16, 2019

connieseamaster likes this.
  5. Canuck May 16, 2019