Forums Latest Members

I got my SMP diagnosed today, what do these numbers mean?

1. toadwaker Feb 7, 2015

Hi everyone, I bought a watch off Kringkily just yesterday, and took it to Omega today to get checked out. It was pressure tested, authenticated, and diagnosed.

The resulting diagnostics are a bit confusing for me. Can someone tel me what these numbers mean?

Thank you :)

[​IMG]

2. ChrisN Feb 8, 2015

I should really let @Archer answer this properly but, will try and get you going and see if I can save some of his time. I am just an amateur so, he might give some corrections...

The watch is tested in the five positions for a chronometer movement. You can see the symbols on the left of your printout and they relate to these (not the same order). The test should be made at full wind (0h) and one day later (+24h). The left hand set of numbers appear to be the 0h results.

test positions.jpg

The first two in your list are CH and FH and you would expect the best results there as it is the best orientation for the balance. Taking the first line, you have a rate of +4 secs/day, 283 degrees amplitude and a beat error of 0.0 milliseconds. For me, very good.

I don't know the spec for your movement but the ones I do all require less than 0.8 milliseconds beat error and yours is well within that in all positions. 300 degrees amplitude (the swing of the balance) is sort of the holy grail for me and you are very close to that. The rate per day is a bit more complex to explain but as a general guide for all expected values, look at the last table on Page 15 of this course:
    https://www.google.es/url?sa=t&source=web&rct=j&ei=RmbXVN6NOczisAS7z4GQCg&url=http://www.witschi.com/assets/files/sheets/Witschi%20Training%20Course.pdf&ved=0CB8QFjAB&usg=AFQjCNG-bHvRwtz8vKH8-Od2y4n5uFrPeA

The horizontal positions are CH and FH. All the rest are vertical.