Forums Latest Members
  1. Watchmutt Oct 3, 2017

My newer Speedys seem to have a bit of resistance to winding. So I have to use my right thumb and index finder to turn it clockwise. There isn't much to get a bite on and I have to roll it along half a turn at a time. Its actually a pain in the butt to wind. I can imagine that people with big fingers would have a harder time with it.

My older Speedy (25yrs) is much easier to turn, so I can use my index finger rolling it with a front to back motion from underneath pretty quickly.

2. blufinz52 Hears dead people, not watch rotors. Oct 3, 2017

I have a new Speedmaster and although it's not the easiest watch to wind, I don't find it too difficult. I don't have a vintage Speedy, so I can't compare the two.

3. Screwbacks Oct 3, 2017

not for me, it's just being kept inside the safe so with the rest of my hoard. i dont set time either on my daily beater watch since i started collecting because i have 2 cellphones that take care of the job.

4. Shailor Oct 3, 2017

My '92 winds easily with the edge of my forefinger.

5. abrod520 Oct 3, 2017

How new? Sounds to me like it's time for a service - I've had newer Speedmasters (2004-05) that needed quite a bit of effort to wind, but it was a sign that the watch just needed to be serviced.

@Archer can either confirm or disprove this, but I think you're better off rolling the crown between two fingers as applying pressure from one side can put undue stress on the crown stem.

6. gdupree Oct 3, 2017

Mine isn't hard to turn. Nice viscous feeling resistance, but not hard. I just wind it with two fingers until it stops. I don't go for the one finger wind, which just seems like it has to be putting more force on the stem, which doesn't seem right. Probably not that big of a deal in any case. I'm not sure there is any real wrong way to wind, provided that you stop winding when the crown stops turning.