Forums Latest Members

Hoping to buy a vintage Omega, advice much needed: Is this real or fake?

1. lord_brian Apr 7, 2017

Dear all,

I am looking to purchase my first ever vintage Omega in my life. I have come across this vintage Omega on Carousell at a price which I find relatively affordable. I have owned other mechanical watches before but have never bought one in this price rage, so this is kind of a big deal to me. As a new-comer, I have little to nil knowledge about vintage Omega's and have no idea how to spot counterfeits out there. I am really happy to find this community online and would hope to hear some advice from you all. Attached here is the vintage Omega that I am really interested in, it is described as a 1970 Vintage Speedmaster and it measures 34mm. Is this likely to be a real vintage Omega?
    I would really appreciate any comments and inputs!

Cheers!

vintage_omega_seamaster_gold_plated_watch_1970_34mm_1488096158_797d190c.jpg vintage_omega_seamaster_gold_plated_watch_1970_34mm_1488096159_39805b33.jpg vintage_omega_seamaster_gold_plated_watch_1970_34mm_1490355462_2cbdb27a.jpg vintage_omega_seamaster_gold_plated_watch_1970_34mm_1490355463_c348dc92.jpg
  2. lillatroll Apr 7, 2017

There is a stikkee on this page called learn how to fish, read that first. Secondly look at WURW today on the open forum, this will give you an idea of what is out there in terms of different designs. After that try not to fall in love with everything that tickles your fancy, be patient and ask lots of questions before buying anything.
    The watch in the OP looks ok, but hard to tell for sure because of blurry pictures, which indicates one of two things, the seller cares little about watches and just want to get rid of it, or the seller knows exactly what he has and is trying to hide something. Ask for some clear pictures of the dial, caseback and movement with cal number. If he doesn't provide, don t buy it.
    good luck and welcome.

lord_brian likes this.