Forums Latest Members
  1. watch7seeker Jan 10, 2022

Hello! Happy New Year to you! I am very new to vintage watches and I want to understand how vintage watches are valued. Here are two examples:

watch1: https://omegaforums.net/threads/vintage-omega-seamaster-ref-2846.140659/
    watch2: https://omegaforums.net/threads/ide...-is-a-genuine-omega-268-and-its-value.140360/

Both watches are, roughly, from the same era (1956 and 1960). watch1 is automatic and watch2 is a manual wind watch. There are a few other differences like gold vs ss plating, sub-seconds vs center seconds, seamaster vs non-seamaster, etc. watch1 is considered a steal at $450 and watch2 is valued, at best, at $250.

Can you please help me understand the considerable difference in the valuations? TIA!

2. cristos71 Jan 10, 2022

Like any common antique or vintage collectable ( ie something generally old that is traded, be it regularly or irregularly), there will be a broad value, based on numerous factors.

These factors can be, amongst others: originality, attractiveness, condition, rarity, desirability, material, past realised price, whether or not it is in or out of vogue, etc, etc.

Having an understanding of the vintage watch market as a whole will give you an idea as to the price make up of those two watches and I'll give you a couple of clues to start with...

Regarding the 268: gold plate is always the least desirable material

Regarding the 2846: the watch dial and it's condition can be anything from 40-60% of the value of a watch.

Good luck with your further research!

Edited Jan 10, 2022
  3. Canuck Jan 10, 2022