Help understanding 200M Pre-Bonds

Hi Guys,

Newbie here looking for some info on the old pre-bond quartz divers. I've read all I could find online and understand the sizes, movements, bracelets, dials, hands, etc, but the one thing no one has explained is the differences between the Ref numbers on the case backs. Omega didn't assign Ref #s for the heck of it, so there must be some specific differences between say a full size 396.1051 and a 396.1061......but I can't find any info on it. Seems the cases are identical and each could have the same dial, bezel, movement, hands, etc.........so why the different Ref #s.......or am I missing something?

thanks,
bob

In fact there were several changes over the life of the Pre-Bond, to movements, hands, crowns, clasps but the most relevant change may be in the casebacks. My take on it is that the first 1041 case number Pre bonds (usually but not always seen with Mercedes hands and a scalloped crown) had a very plain looking 2 part back bearing just the word Omega, then the 1051 used a fancier back with hippocampus medallion but still 2 piece, the 1061 used single piece backs with hippocampus engravings. Omega do change case numbers on watches that superficially look the same, the follow on Bond SMP had 2 or even 3 case numbers in its life from 1994-2006 so its happened since.
Edited:

Hi padders,
Thanks for the info! I think you're right.........if they change the caseback, and the caseback is part of the case, then the case Ref # has to change! That makes so much sense that I'm a bit embarrassed to have asked the question. Amazing that no one else has ever pointed that out in all the "Everything you ever wanted to know about Pre-Bond 200M's" articles online. Thanks for your help!

;O)
bob

Do you have one Bob? If so post a pic, we love pics on here.

Hi padders,