Forums Latest Members
  1. jcr1973 Dec 3, 2015

I have an Omega Speedmaster 1962 105 002, which belonged to my father. The watch has never been maintained, he broke the glass, and mess around with the time being kept in a box. Continues to operate although it dropped two hands.

I want to restore it. Should I take it to Omega Mexico service or a recommended a watchmaker in Mexico?
    Are there are problems with the 321 caliber being serviced by omega?

Etp095 likes this.
  2. jcr1973 Dec 3, 2015

Etp095 likes this.
  3. oddboy Zero to Grail+2998 In Six Months Dec 3, 2015

Hi, welcome.

The watch is in pretty rough shape, but it was your father's, right? I'd get it fixed up. I would personally look into a good relume for the dial, maybe Jack at IWW?

Definitely get the movement serviced. If you take it to Omega, they will likely replace the dial and hands with modern ones. That's ok, as long as you get the originals back. They have value, even in rough shape. Besides, that would allow you to send the original dial for a touch up.

Given the state of the watch, it may need at least an overhaul, and quite likely a bit more. Be ready to spend soewhere around $1000 to get it serviced.

Movement number is in the range for an 002. I don't know if it's proven, but I think th baton hands were on the slightly higher range. This watch may have had original alpha hands replaced a long time ago with the newer baton style. Again, don't know if this is fact, and generally, either are acceptable for this reference. In any event, the chrono hand is wrong for the reference as are the hour and minute hands. The pushers are also for a different reference, but a service should be able to take care of that too.

More reading, http://speedmaster101.com/105-002/

Enjoy the journey!

Edited Dec 3, 2015
  4. Etp095 Dec 5, 2015

I wouldn't refinish the dial, just service the movement. That's a very nice watch, and belonging to your dad, is the icing on the cake. Are you in Mexico City?