Forums Latest Members

Help needed determining authenticity of a speedmaster day date!

1. olli.suortti Jan 6, 2017

Hi,

I am considering a trade between my current watch and this one. However this would be my first Omega, so I am not really an expert yet.

Could someone who knows about these watches give some thoughts of anything that might look out of place or suspicious. Any help is greatly appreciated. The seller told me that the bracelet is from another speedy, so that should be of no concern.

Sorry if the thread is on a wrong forum or something, again I am a new member.

BR,

Olli

20161128_220238.png 20161128_232545.jpg 20161128_232602.jpg 20161128_232611.jpg 20161128_235637.png
  2. Foo2rama Keeps his worms in a ball instead of a can. Jan 6, 2017

low quality pics, and the watch appears to be a bit tired, but I see nothing that would say its fake. That is an Omega Service/Travel pouch, and the watch has some damage to it at the 8 o clock and the bezel looks slightly misaligned. Without a picture of the inside of the caseback I cannot tell you how old it is other then it was introduced in 1997. The serial number should be on the outside of the caseback and match the movement. It is not the correct bracelet for the watch, but it works on it. Technically that bracelet is for a Speedmaster reduced, and this watch should have a 1563/850 or 1562/850 bracelet. My feeling is that the endlinks on the watch right now may not be a perfect fit, I think the mk40 and reduced had slightly different cases.

http://www.fratellowatches.com/speedy-tuesday-omega-speedmaster-day-date-mk40/

That link should give you some ideas on how to search for other prices. Great condition goes for $2,000 or less if you hunt a bit, this one is considerably less. It is also a 39mm watch while a Moonwatch Professional is a 42mm watch, and these do tend to wear a bit small for some guys. There are more then a few variations of the dial out there.

Edited Jan 6, 2017