Forums Latest Members
  1. jframe Jan 16, 2012

07-03-10_1444.jpg I'm a total amateur on watches, but I know when I like one. That being said, I inherited this Omega Automatic that my grandfather had as a retirement gift from his company. The back is engraved with his name and date of retirement being 01-08-1971 on it. Is this a good watch and what would be a baseline value today on it? I'm not looking to sell it, of course, but I am curious as to it's value. I put the leather band on; any idea what the original band would have been like? He wore it with a stretch band, as a lot of older people do, making it easier to put on and remove. I'm thinking a metal band of some sort, but not a stretch. Any and all comments will be much appreciated; I'm truly a newbie at this. I'm sorry for such a blurry pic; all I have is a cell phone, which leaves a lot to be desired. The watch is marked Omega Automatic at the top and Swiss made at the very bottom. The back is stamped 10k G F BEZ and steel back. The Omega logo is also on the wind knob.

2. mondodec Editor Constellation Collectors Blog Jan 16, 2012

Hmm

Hard to tell with the fuzzy pic, so we'll probably need some clearer shots to identify the model. Appears to be a US cased cal 550 from the late 60s.

Cheers

Desmond

3. Trev The Architect Staff Member Jan 16, 2012

Welcome to ΩF, jframe :thumbsup:

Perhaps try getting a shot of it out in daylight. The phone might have an easier time focusing on the watch and revealing further detail.

4. ulackfocus Jan 16, 2012