Forums Latest Members
  1. IronMage May 8, 2015

Hello all.

I'm a college student and I've been looking at getting a vintage Omega Seamaster for some time; I mentioned this several months ago to my parents, whom are avid estate sale-goers, and they found an interesting watch earlier this week.

After searching the web for anything that looks like this, we couldn't find a fully matched model/design anywhere. We've contacted a professional Omega repair person, but they haven't gotten back to us as they said they would.

Honestly, we're trying to understand how much it may be worth. Both my parents and the people running the estate sale assumed it was fake, this led to my parents paying ~$40 for the watch; but the repair person said that it looked real. If the watch is fake or not worth a lot, then I'll be keeping it, but my parents want to be sure it's not a $10k watch—not that I imagine it would be—before they gift it to me.

Any insight would be incredibly helpful! The following are some pictures they have sent to me (I'll be getting a couple more to add very soon).

20150505_121614.jpg 20150508_180354.jpg 20150508_180629.jpg

20150508_180759.jpg
  2. gatorcpa ΩF InvestiGator Staff Member May 8, 2015

Without seeing the movement, it's impossible to say anything for sure. However, this looks like a US market Omega bumper movement (cal. 351 or 354) watch. What's a bit odd is that it looks about 20 years older than the 1971 date on the back.

The dial was probably refinished, maybe when the presentation was done. Hands look correct.

Please post some pictures when the watchmaker opens up the watch for you.
    gatorcpa

3. IronMage May 8, 2015

Will do;I appreciate your input!

Go Gators!

4. noelekal Home For Wayward Watches May 9, 2015

5. IronMage May 9, 2015

noelekal! That's exactly it—minus the 'M' that you mentioned—!!!!