Forums Latest Members
  1. Misterred May 23, 2015

One year ago I bought this lovely Omega Dynamic Geneve from the States. Although I recently bought an even nicer Speedmaster Mark II, this one gets sufficient wrist time. I love it's color, the size is great for my small wrist. I am looking for some background information on this watch. All the other examples I see seem to look quite different than mine. Can any of you tell me more? What reference number is it? Year of production, etc? Much appreciated!

2. dsio Ash @ ΩF Staff Member May 23, 2015

Pics?

3. Misterred May 23, 2015

4. lillatroll May 23, 2015

I'm no expert but from what I found doing a quick look on the internet it looks like a ref 166079, which if correct dates it from 1970. from the pictures yours looks like someone has had a go of re painting the dial, and not very successfully to be honest. Apparently these early ones were prone to being damaged and it is not often that one comes across a nice original one. As I said I am no expert so I could be wrong about the dial but it does look a bit of a mess compared to the two examples I found on the internet.

5. X350 XJR Vintage Omega Aficionado May 23, 2015

Looks like a 166.175, probably a caliber 1010/1012. Dial is refinished.

Smooth top on the case and lack of trim on the date window are the indicators that OPs watch is not one of the earlier caliber 5xx watches.

IMG_2847.JPG IMG_2848.JPG IMG_2849.JPG

6. Misterred May 25, 2015

Thanks for the information guys. I would say it is the 166.175 based on the other pictures I found. I don´t really mind if the dial would be repainted. It was a bargain and I love the Geneve Dynamic, true 70 vintage style, of it anyway. And it runs smoothly.

Yours is also very nice, X350 XJR! Something totally different of the blue-metallic styled ones you see a lot.

Does anyone of you guys know a place where to buy the tool 107? And perhaps the red plastic caseback/bracelet opener?