Forums Latest Members

Have you ever bought a watch because of the man who owned it before you?.....

1. McKinley Nov 20, 2017

Hello all, I am relatively new to this hobby and newer still to this forum. As I have mentioned before, I am learning several new things each day. I am amazed and in awe of some of you and the knowledge you have. I want to ask the question in the title, but give you a little preliminary info. I have collected things nearly all my life. I have been a coin collector since I was literally 5 years old. As an adult I continued collecting coins and branched out into collecting gold and silver bullion as well. I have told myself I am diversifying and have it in case you know what hits the fan. I have my Grandparents, both sides, coin collections and can't imagine ever parting with them unless my wife and daughter were starving or to keep a roof over their heads. Later, as an adult, I started collecting firearms. Someday I will add a post to the firearms thread on here and maybe show off a little. I have both of my Grandfather's hunting rifles, my Great Grandfather's, an Uncle's firearms and as with the coins, I would never part with them. As a firearms collector I have bought many of "Dad's or Grampa's" old guns that someone doesn't want or because they need a pack of cigarettes or whatever or cuz it is easier to sell these things off than get a job. Sorry, I am off on another tangent rant. A lot of these have become keepers for me and when I am gone the girls will find them in the safe. I joke with them that since they don't share my interests, I know these will go much like how I acquired them and they will be able to live out of the safe for years. Now that I have gotten into vintage watches over the last 16 months or so I recently bought a watch from an acquaintance, who knew of this hobby of mine and offered me his father's totally beat Rolex. Now, I honestly never thought I would own a Rolex, for money reasons and the fact I really don't car