Forums Latest Members

Genuineness of a Tudor Sub 79090

1. la_lusigne Jun 6, 2022

Hello all :)

I came across a Tudor sub ref.79090 and I would like to have other pairs of eyes to look at it and either confirm or correct my assessment on it. I am not an expert on these but here is my opinion after checking older threads on various forums.

The photos aren't the sharpest but they are the only ones available from the seller.
    1.jpg 2.jpg 3.jpg 4.jpg 5.jpg
    6.jpg

The watch looks genuine to me : dial, hands, case, bezel don't ring an alarm. The movement pic is very blurry and the ETA 2824 is easily obtainable by forger so this part doesn't help me.

What bugs me is the serial number which should start by a letter B but I have seen examples without the letter.

So please feel free to tell me that I am completely wrong or not : either way I'll learn more about these :thumbsup:

2. Dan S Jun 6, 2022

Looks to be worth going to see the watch in-person, but I don't know if I'd buy the watch based on those photos.

watch3s likes this.
  3. fiberguy Jun 6, 2022

I dont think one can make a reasonable assessment based on those photos.

4. la_lusigne Jun 6, 2022

I know the pictures are pretty poor unfortunately :(
    The seller seems of old age and lives abroad so I don’t think I can get better

5. fiberguy Jun 6, 2022

Looks like Tudor did not start preceding the serial number with a B until after 1990 - the serial number as best I can make out puts it in the early 60's
    https://watchattitude.com/tudor-serial-numbers-production-dates/

That watch could very well be legit, but even from the pics it looks like its "been around the block".

6. Dan S Jun 6, 2022

I believe the ref 79090 started in the late 80s or 90s. It's possible that there might be a faint "B" in the serial number. The photos are just unfortunate.

7. CPRwatch Jun 6, 2022